McClelland & Stewart publishes Canadian poets whose work engages and excites, and who stand out because of the distinctiveness of their voices, their rigorous dedication to craft, and the scope of their imaginations.

Historically, M&S was the publisher of such poets as Margaret Avison, Earle Birney, Leonard Cohen, Ralph Gustafson, Irving Layton, Gwendolyn MacEwen, and Al Purdy. In the early 1980s, the poetry program was formalized, under the editorship of Dennis Lee, and since then it has continued to be defined by innovation and discovery.

Today, M&S remains the pre-eminent publisher of Canadian poets. M&S poets have received the highest recognition and most prestigious awards in the country, including the Griffin Poetry Prize.

We are proud of the authors and the books we publish and invite you to browse our site and find out more.