First Novel Award Winners | McClelland & Stewart First Novel Award Winners

We have updated our Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018, to clarify how we collect and process your personal data. By continuing to use this website, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to the updated Privacy Policy.

Throughout her career, Ellen Seligman was fiercely committed to nurturing and discovering new and emerging writers, a commitment that McClelland & Stewart continues to honour. She worked with many of her most well-known authors from their very first books, which is why the First Novel Award was such a special one for her. Click here for a chronological list of Ellen’s First Novel Award–winning books.

Such a Long Journey
Written by Rohinton Mistry;
Funny Boy
Written by Shyam Selvadurai;
Written by Madeleine Thien;
The Rehearsal
Written by Eleanor Catton;