The Union of the Canadas 1841-1857 | Penguin Random House Canada
We have updated our Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018, to clarify how we collect and process your personal data. By continuing to use this website, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to the updated Privacy Policy.
The Canadian Centenary Series

The Union of the Canadas 1841-1857

The Growth of Canadian Institutions

Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Volume X of the Canadian Centenary Series

Now available as e-books for the first time, the Canadian Centenary Series is a comprehensive nineteen-volume history of the peoples and lands which form Canada. Although the series is designed as a unified whole so that no part of the story is left untold, each volume is complete in itself.

J.M.S. Careless looks at how the Act of Union of 1841, which was intended to create a single province and a single constitution for French- and English-speaking Canadians, actually served to entrench duality.

First published in 1967, Dr. Careless’s important contribution to the Canadian Centenary Series is available here as an e-book for the first time.