Piper | Penguin Random House Canada
We have updated our Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018, to clarify how we collect and process your personal data. By continuing to use this website, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to the updated Privacy Policy.

Piper

Publisher: Razorbill
#1 international bestselling author of Thirteen Reasons Why Jay Asher and co-author Jessica Freeburg brilliantly reimagine the classic Pied Piper legend as a powerful graphic novel about loneliness, love, and vengeance. Fans of Neil Gaiman and Through the Woods by Emily Carroll will devour this eerie, atmospheric retelling.

“A moving graphic novel about isolation, love, and retribution, this dark version of a familiar tale will remain with readers long after the last page is turned.”—School Library Journal
 
Long ago, in a small village in the middle of a deep, dark forest, there lived a lonely, deaf girl named Maggie. Shunned by her village because of her disability, her only comfort comes from her vivid imagination. Maggie has a gift for inventing stories and dreams of one day finding her fairy-tale love.
 
When Maggie meets the mysterious Piper, it seems that all her wishes are coming true. Spellbound, Maggie falls hard for him and plunges headfirst into his magical world. But as she grows closer to the Piper, Maggie discovers that he has a dark side.
 
The boy of Maggie’s dreams might just turn out to be her worst nightmare…
 
With striking illustrations from Eisner-nominated artist Jeff Stokely, mixed with Jessica Freeburg's work on historic and legendary horrors, Piper is an exciting new departure for Jay Asher that deftly touches on the same themes of truth, guilt, and redemption that made Thirteen Reasons Why a beloved bestseller.

PRAISE FOR

Gorgeously illustrated and lyrically paced, PIPER had me under its spell from the first page. A riveting and, at times, chilling response to one of the most fascinating legends that history and fairy tales have given us. 
—Marissa Meyer, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Lunar Chronicles and Renegades
 
Jay Asher and Jessica Freeburg have conjured real magic with PIPER! Mysterious and weird, scary and yet charming, they’ve managed to take an old story and craft it into something beautiful and new! Highly recommended.
—Jonathan Maberry, New York Times bestselling author of Rot & Ruin and Black Panther: Doomwar

With an unfailingly honest touch, Piper unlocks the mystery and finds the heart of one of our most haunting legends. Asher, Freeburg, and Stokely find the emotional True North and leave their audience, including me, reaching for our Kleenex. Loved!
—Danielle Paige, New York Times bestselling author of the Dorothy Must Die and Stealing Snow series