Bad Blood | Penguin Random House Canada

Bad Blood

Publisher: Delacorte Press
“A story that will both warm your heart, and chill you to the bone."—KENDARE BLAKE, New York Times bestselling author of Three Dark Crowns

“Dark and complex and wickedly romantic.”—GRETCHEN MCNEIL, author of Ten 


A girl discovers a family secret and a past full of magic that could both save her and put her in mortal danger in this suspenseful novel that's perfect for fans of Katie Alender and Natasha Preston.

All sixteen-year-old Heather MacNair wants is to feel normal, to shed the intense paranoia she’s worn all year like a scratchy sweater. After her compulsion to self-harm came to light, Heather was kept under her doctor’s watchful eye. Her family thinks she’s better—and there’s nothing she wants more than for that to be true. She still can’t believe she’s allowed to spend her summer vacation as she always does: at her aunt’s home in Scotland, where she has lots of happy memories. Far away from all her problems save one: she can’t stop carving the Celtic knot that haunts her dreams into her skin.

Good friends and boys with Scottish accents can cure almost anything . . . except nightmares. Heather can’t stop dreaming about two sisters from centuries ago, twins Prudence and Primrose, who somehow seem tied to her own life. Their presence lurks just beneath the surface of her consciousness, sending ripples through what should be a peaceful summer. The twins might hold the key to putting Heather’s soul at rest . . . or they could slice her future deeper than any knife.


***
 “An eerie blend of mystery and magic amid the Scottish highlands.”—MINDY MCGINNIS, author of A Madness So Discreet and The Female of the Species

“A haunting and mysterious page turner.”—KATE KARYUS QUINN, author of Another Little Piece

 "A chilling gothic thriller . . .  fans of Katie Alender’s Bad Girls Don’t Die series will appreciate this work and its spine-chilling twists."--SLJ

“A thoroughly enjoyable contemporary Gothic.”—Kirkus

“A perfect choice for fans of chilling supernatural reads.”—Booklist

A YALSA 2018 Best Fiction for Young Adults Selection


READ AN EXCERPT

1

 

 

primrose

 

 

June 13, 1629

 

Edinburgh, Scotland

 

 

Black smoke scalds my lungs.

 

A crowd is gathered, their faces lit by the flames, but also ablaze with the joyous anticipation of my punishment...

Read More

PRAISE FOR

"Fascinating and dreadful, BAD BLOOD is a haunting family saga of betrayed witches as well as one girl's struggle to come to terms with herself. With charm and skill to spare, Demitria Lunetta has crafted a story that will both warm your heart, and chill you to the bone."—KENDARE BLAKE, author of Three Dark Crowns

“An intriguing introduction set in Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1629, leaps to modern-day teen Heather, who has issues with cutting stemming from visions of Scotland’s past, namely two sisters, Primrose and Prudence, who are hell-bent on destruction. . . . Lunetta’s latest has the perfect balance of mystery, magic, and realism with a sprinkle of Scottish history adding to the overall attraction. A perfect choice for fans of chilling supernatural reads.”--Booklist

 "A chilling gothic thriller, with threads of horror woven throughout. . . .  fans of Katie Alender’s Bad Girls Don’t Die series will appreciate this work and its spine-chilling twists."--SLJ

 “The setting charms, and the mystery unravels at a good clip. A thoroughly enjoyable contemporary Gothic.”—Kirkus Reviews

A YALSA 2018 Best Fiction for Young Adults Selection

*

“A bang-up, twisty sci-fi adventure/thriller.” —Kirkus on IN THE AFTER

Gripping and suspenseful.” —SLJ on IN THE AFTER
  
“The lightning-swift pace and strong female characters create a satisfying page-turner.” —Booklist on IN THE END