Goodbye Days | Penguin Random House Canada
We have updated our Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018, to clarify how we collect and process your personal data. By continuing to use this website, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to the updated Privacy Policy.

Goodbye Days

Publisher: Penguin Teen
A novel about finding strength and hope after tragedy. Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, Looking for Alaska, and Zentner's own The Serpent King, one of the most highly acclaimed YA novels of 2016, Goodbye Days asks what you would do if you could spend one last day with someone you lost.

What would you say if you could spend one last day with someone you lost?

     One day Carver Briggs had it all--three best friends, a supportive family and a reputation as a talented writer at his high school, Nashville Academy for the Arts. The next day it all crashed and burned, literally, after he wrote them out of existence with an inane text sent to his friend Mars--the last words his friends ever see. Carver can't stop blaming himself for the fatal crash and he's not the only one. Eli's twin sister is trying to freeze him out of school with her death-ray stare. Even worse, Mars's father, a powerful judge, pressures the district attorney to open a criminal investigation into Carver's actions.

     But Carver has some unexpected allies: Eli's girlfriend, who is the only person to stand by him at school, and Blake's grandmother, who asks Carver to spend a Goodbye Day with her--having him stand in as Blake for one last day doing all their favorite things so they can share memories and say a proper goodbye.

     Soon Eli and Mars's families are asking for a Goodbye Day with Carver--but he's unsure of their motives. Will they all be able to make peace with their losses, or will these Goodbye Days bring Carver one step closer to prison or a complete breakdown?

PRAISE FOR

One of Toronto Public Library’s Great Reads for Youth 2018

PRAISE FOR Goodbye Days:


"Racial tensions, spoiled reputations, and broken homes all play roles in an often raw meditation on grief and the futility of entertaining what-ifs when faced with awful, irreversible events." --Starred Review, Publishers Weekly

"Zentner does an excellent job in creating empathetic characters, especially his protagonist Carver, a budding writer whose first-person account of his plight is artful evidence of his talent." --Starred Review, Booklist

"[A] novel full of wisdom." --Kirkus Reviews

"[The] kind of intelligent, intense, and life-affirming tale that will resonate with teens seeking depth and honesty." --School Library Journal

"Zentner skillfully . . . depicts his protagonist's inner turmoil and the beginnings of his recovery in a frequently raw narrative." --The Horn Book Magazine

"This book is a masterfully written piece of young adult literature." --CM Magazine

"A gorgeous, heartbreaking, and ultimately life-affirming meditation on grief and forgiveness . . ." --Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything

"Hold on to your heart: this book will wreck you, fix you, and most definitely change you." --Becky Albertalli, author of Morris Award winner Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

PRAISE FOR The Serpent King:

"Zentner's prose wraps you up like a warm, Southern hug and packs the punches of a sweaty country brawl ... The Serpent King is a debut you won't be able to resist or forget. The Southern Boy in me savored every syllable and the reader in me fell in love with every page." --John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back, winner of the Michael L. Printz Award and William C. Morris Award

"One of the most stunningly heartfelt, lump-in-your-throat novels I've ever had the pleasure of reading. Hold onto your heart: this book will wreck you, fix you, and most definitely change you." --Becky Albertalli, author of Morris Award winner Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda