Like It Never Happened

Publisher: Dial Books
Stereotypes, sexuality, and destructive rumors collide in this smart YA novel for fans of Sara Zarr’s Story of a Girl, Siobhan Vivian’s The List, and E. Lockhart’s The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks.

When Rebecca Rivers lands the lead in her school’s production of The Crucible, she gets to change roles in real life, too. She casts off her old reputation, grows close with her four rowdy cast-mates, and kisses the extremely handsome Charlie Lamb onstage. Even Mr. McFadden, the play’s critical director, can find no fault with Rebecca.

Though “The Essential Five” vow never to date each other, Rebecca can’t help her feelings for Charlie, leaving her both conflicted and lovestruck. But the on and off-stage drama of the cast is eclipsed by a life-altering accusation that threatens to destroy everything…even if some of it is just make believe.

READ AN EXCERPT

CHAPTER 1

It wasn’t like he begged me to sit shotgun in his ancient station wagon. Mr. McFadden only offered me a ride home because I happened to be backstage looking for a taxidermied puffin. Two weeks earlier, during curtain call for The Seagull, Mr. McFadden had placed the puffin in my arms instead of...

Read More

PRAISE FOR

* "Original and intriguing; a powerful debut."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Will satisfy thinking readers, namely fans of E. Lockhart and of realistic teen fiction that invokes drama without melodrama."—School Library Journal

"What begins as a story of teen romance soon develops into much more...For readers who enjoyed E. Lockhart’s Dramarama and Raina Telgemeier’s Drama."—Booklist

"Fans of contemporary novels with mysterious undercurrents, like E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars, or readers looking for something realistic with a little weight to it will find what they are looking for here."—VOYA

"Balancing masterful comedic timing with a thoughtful presentation of controversial topics, first-time novelist Adrian’s writing brims with authenticity and compassion."—Publishers Weekly

"[Emily Adrian's] slice of life high school story mimics the structure of a play, a young adult homage to the spectacle of the stage."—The National Post

"Adrian writes with a light but perceptive touch, favouring realism over melodrama and creating a comfortably compelling read worthy of comparisons to YA royalty Sarah Dessen and Sara Zarr."—The Globe and Mail

"This novel makes an interesting study in rumors and reputation, as well as an ultimately positive portrayal of a conflicted but resilient and independent teen. It’ll be a lively read for theater folks, sure, but an even better one for those worried about their reputations."—BCCB