Roller Girl

Publisher: Dial Books
The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile

For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high!) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school… in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.

In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverence, and girl power!


From the Trade Paperback edition.

PRAISE FOR

A Newbery Honor book
2016-2017 Texas Bluebonnet Award winner
New York Times Bestseller
A Spring 2015 Indie Next Pick
New York Times Book Review Notable Children's Book of 2015
A New York Public Library Best Book for Reading and Sharing of 2015
Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2015
School Library Journal Best Book of 2015
Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2015
A Top 10 Latin@ Book of 2015
Parents Magazine Best Children's Book of 2015
A Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2015
A Texas Bluebonnet Award 2016-2017 nominee
A 2016 YALSA Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers selection
A 2016 YALSA Popular Paperback selection
An ALA Notable Children's Book of 2016
A 2015 Nerdy Book Club Award Winner for Best Graphic Novel




Roller Girl's message of self-discovery, friendship, and perseverance will roll its way right into your heart.” —Raina Telgemeier, New York Times bestselling author of Sisters

“This spiky, winning graphic novel captures the bittersweetness of finding a new passion and saying goodbye to your former, more uncertain self.” —New York Times Book Review

* "Jamieson captures this snapshot of preteen angst with a keenly decisive eye, brilliantly juxtaposing the nuances of roller derby with the twists and turns of adolescent girls' friendships...Full of charm and moxie—don't let this one roll past." —Kiruks, starred review

* “The story will engage readers… Offer this comic to fans of Telgemeier’s Smile and Laura Lee Gulledge’s Page by Paige.”—School Library Journal, starred review

* "Readers will stand up and cheer."—Publishers Weekly, starred review

* "Jamieson’s dialogue captures coming-of-age…so authentically"—Horn Book, starred review

* "[A] sharp and engaging graphic novel”—BCCB, starred review


"Visually, Roller Girl is very appealing — think Lynn Johnston with a modern edge — but it's the storytelling that really sets this graphic novel apart…A great choice for tween girls, whether they're remaking themselves, renegotiating friendships or just weathering the stormy seas of early adolescence." —Chicago Tribune