A Mile End Kids Story

Colette’s Lost Pet

Publisher: Tundra Books
A charming and funny story about navigating new places and friendships. Perfect for fans of Uni the Unicorn and Sparky.

Colette is exploring her new neighborhood and wants to make friends. But when she encounters someone her age she’s never met before, she doesn’t know what to say—so she hastily invents a lost pet! Things spiral a bit out of control as a neighborhood-wide search party is assembled and Colette makes her pet bird more amazing with each telling. Will the neighborhood kids catch on to her ever-growing fib?
 
This charming story both clearly identifies the struggle of navigating a different experience and demonstrates to kids a lovely and welcoming way to treat someone new in their community.

PRAISE FOR

PRAISE FOR Colette's Lost Pet:

"The boundary between picture book and comic is delightfully blurred in this sensitive story about a girl with a yellow raincoat and a fictional lost pet." --National Post

"[T]he touching story of a little girl who moves to Montreal’s Mile End neighbourhood and draws the local kids into her search for an increasingly fantastical imaginary lost pet bird." --Quill & Quire

PRAISE FOR Cloth Lullaby, by Amy Novesky, illustrated by Isabelle Arsenault:


"With evocative, gorgeous illustrations and an inspirational story of an artist not often covered in children's literature, this arresting volume is an excellent addition to nonfiction picture book collections, particularly those lacking titles about women artists." --Starred Review, Booklist

Splendid visual and verbal introduction to little-known artist Louise Bourgeois." --Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews

PRAISE FOR Jane, The Fox & Me, by Fanny Britt, illustrated by Isabelle Arsenault:

"A sensitive and possibly reassuring take on a psychological vulnerability that is all too common and not easily defended." --Kirkus Reviews

"More than a few readers will recognize themselves in Hélène and find comfort." --Publishers Weekly