Little Blue Chair

Publisher: Tundra Books
A sweet, whimsical tale that chronicles the journey of a chair as it changes hands and uses. Perfect for fans of The Good Little BookSomething for Nothing and Virginia Lee Burton's The Little House.


Boo's favorite chair is little and blue. He sits in it, reads in it and makes a tent around it...until the day he grows too big for it. His mother puts the little blue chair out on the lawn where a truck driver picks it up. The truck driver sells it to a lady in a junk store where it sits for many years until it's sold and put to use as a plant stand. In the years that follow, the little blue chair is used in many other ways -- on an elephant ride, in a contest, on a Ferris wheel, in a tree...until the day it flies away, borne aloft by balloons, and lands in a garden of daffodils where a familiar face finds it.

A charming, beautifully illustrated read-aloud that follows the adventures of a little chair, beginning as the seat of a small child who loves books and circling back to that child's child many years (and bottoms) later.

PRAISE FOR

PRAISE FOR Little Blue Chair:

"This is, at heart, a romantic story, one that makes a lovely case for finding value and utility in secondhand items, and for sharing them when they are no longer needed." --Publishers Weekly

"Madeline Kloepper works in a soothing, mute palette and her tender ink-and-pencil style is part Ruth Krauss and part Julie Morstad, with a vintage tinge. But Kloepper also infuses her style with several modern touches . . . The result is a very sweet little marriage between old and new, with magic officiating the ceremony." --Quill & Quire


"Madeline Kloepper's childlike ink and pencil artwork is thoroughly charming, and readers will love tracking the chair all the way back to its original owner, now grown up with a daughter of his own." --Shelf Awareness

"[Cary Fagan] knows how to weave a beautiful story . . . Charming and whimsical, this is a highly recommended read-aloud with perfectly matched illustrations." --City Parent Magazine

"Though there are many children’s books that depict the secret lives of treasured inanimate objects, it’s the richly imagined scenes that bring this story to life. Newcomer Madeline Kloepper’s detailed illustrations are the perfect accompaniments to picture-book veteran Cary Fagan’s narrative." --The Globe and Mail

PRAISE FOR Mr. Zinger's Hat:

"Fagan's dialogue moves smartly." --Publishers Weekly

"Every child needs a Mr. Zinger -- and his hat! -- in his or her life . . . This book oh-so-softly brings across a sweet multigenerational message about sharing the power of imagination." --Booklist

"A thoroughly engaging addition to the shelf of stories about story making." --Kirkus Reviews