Publisher: Random House Canada
At once a vivid, haunting reimagining of 1950s Britain, a gripping, humane spy thriller and a poignant love story, with Dominion C.J. Sansom once again asserts himself as the master of the historical novel.
     1952. Twelve years have passed since Churchill lost to the appeasers and Britain surrendered to Nazi Germany. The press, radio and television are tightly controlled. British Jews face ever greater constraints.
    But Churchill's Resistance soldiers on. And in a Birmingham mental hospital, fragile scientist Frank Muncaster holds a secret that could alter the balance of the global struggle forever.
    Civil Servant David Fitzgerald, a spy for the Resistance, is given the mission to rescue Frank and get him out of the country. Hard on his heels is Gestapo agent Gunther Hoth, a brilliant, implacable hunter of men, who soon has Frank, along with David's innocent wife, Sarah, directly in his sights.
    C.J. Sansom's literary thriller Winter in Madrid earned him comparisons to Graham Greene, Sebastian Faulks and Ernest Hemingway. Now, in the first alternative history epic from Sansom in the tradition of Robert Harris's Fatherland and Stephen King's 11/22/63, Sansom doesn't just recreate the past--he reinvents it. In a spellbinding tale of suspense, oppression and poignant love, Dominion dares to explore how, in moments of crisis, history can turn on the decisions of a few brave men and women--the secrets they keep and the bonds they share.



LONGLISTED 2014 – International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award

“Engaging…. Sansom’s scenario is all too real, and it has sparked a modest controversy among it-couldn’t-happen-here readers across the water…. Sansom has done admirably. A rich and densely plotted story that will make Winston Churchill buffs admire the man even more.”
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“An absorbing, thoughtful, spy-politico thriller set in the fog-ridden London of 1952…. Part adventure, part espionage, all encompassed by terrific atmosphere and a well-argued ‘it might have been.’”
—Marcel Berlins, The Times

“A haunting, vividly imagined novel…. The alternative Britain that Sansom constructs, a brilliant amalgam of the 1950s as they actually were and as they might have been, is entirely convincing. Throwaway details cleverly add verisimilitude to his portrait. The tale he sets within his parallel universe is at once exciting, sophisticated and moving.”
—Nick Rennison, The Sunday Times

"C.J. Sansom has long been one of my favorite writers, but Dominion may be his most richly imagined book yet: it's a wonderful example of what the novel can do--a through-the-looking-glass glimpse into a world that might have been, and almost was."
—Kate Atkinson

"Tremendous novel that shakes historical preconceptions while also sending shivers down the spine."
—The Guardian

"Masterly. . . . Sketched with hallucinatory clarity. . . . Sansom, whose Tudor mysteries showed his feeling for the plight of good people in a brutal, treacherous society, builds his nightmare Britain from the sooty bricks of truth. . . . Dominion shows us what a truly broken Britain would look, and feel, like."
—The Independent