Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt

Publisher: Vintage Canada
With illustrations by award-winning comic artist Joe Sacco, Chris Hedges portrays a suffering nation on the cusp of widespread revolt and addresses Occupy Wall Street in his first book since the international protests began.
 
In the tradition of Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Hedges and Sacco travel to the depressed pockets of the United States to report on recession-era America. What they find in Camden, New Jersey, the devastated coalmines of West Virginia, on the Lakota reservation in South Dakota, and in undocumented farmworker colonies in California is a thriving neofeudalism. With extraordinary on-the-ground reportage and illustration, Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt provides a terrifying glimpse of a future for America and the nations that follow her lead--a future that will be avoided with nothing short of revolution.

PRAISE FOR

Praise for Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt:
"Sacco's sections are uniformly brilliant. The tone is controlled, the writing smart, the narration neutral; we are allowed to draw our own conclusions.... An important book.... Hedges is a serious writer and thinker, and as in his seminal work, War Is a Force That Gives Us Meaning, he is brilliant at depicting human life at the extremes of existence--from war to grinding poverty--and explaining the effects on the human psyche."
—The New York Times Book Review

"While the statistics and situations...[Hedges and Sacco] report on are shocking enough, the illustrations, which are often combined with a local's first-hand account, add gravitas to the stories."
—National Post

"A heartfelt, harrowing picture of post-capitalist America."
—The Guardian

"One of the infernal documents of our new century."
—The Georgia Straight