Watching the Dark

Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Now in trade paperback, this engrossing, edgy, and topical police procedural, the twentieth novel in the popular series that features Yorkshire DCI Alan Banks, for readers of Ian Rankin and Linwood Barclay.

     DCI Alan Banks is back - and this time he's investigating the murder of one of his own. A respected officer convalescing at the St. Peter's Police Treatment Centre, is killed by a crossbow while on the facility's tranquil grounds, and the initial investigation uncovers compromising photos in his room. Soon after, a Professional Standards Inspector arrives in Eastvale and insists on working the case alongside a reluctant Banks, who's convinced a police officer shouldn't be deemed guilty without proper evidence. But the more they learn, the more likely it seems the officer wasn't all he was reputed to be, that his murder is linked to another vicious crime in Yorkshire and to a cold case - the disappearance of a nineteen-year-old English girl in Estonia six years earlier.


"Eminently pleasurable..." 
National Post

"Among his other admirable qualities, Peter Robinson has a knack for adapting and even clarifying real-life crimes." -
—Toronto Star

"An intelligent police procedural put together with an eye on a current social problem, something Robinson's books are known for..." 
Ottawa Citizen