Horrorstor

A Novel

Publisher: Quirk Books
Something strange is happening at the Orsk furniture superstore in Cleveland, Ohio. Every morning, employees arrive to find broken Kjerring bookshelves, shattered Glans water goblets, and smashed Liripip wardrobes. Sales are down, security cameras reveal nothing, and store managers are panicking.
 
To unravel the mystery, three employees volunteer to work a nine-hour dusk-till-dawn shift. In the dead of the night, they’ll patrol the empty showroom floor, investigate strange sights and sounds, and encounter horrors that defy the imagination.
 
A traditional haunted house story in a thoroughly contemporary setting, Horrorstör comes packaged in the form of a glossy mail order catalog, complete with product illustrations, a home delivery order form, and a map of Orsk’s labyrinthine showroom. It’s “a treat for fans of The Evil Dead or Zombieland, complete with affordable solutions for better living.”—Kirkus Reviews.

PRAISE FOR

“...Hendrix is an engaging writer...”—Santa Fe New Mexican

Horrorstör delivers a crisp terror-tale...[and] Hendrix strikes a nice balance between comedy and horror.”—Washington Post

“...the book’s packaging as a catalog—complete with illustrations of increasingly sinister-looking furniture with faux Scandinavian names—gives it a charmingly oddball allure.”—Publishers Weekly

“...Hendrix conjures up some wonderfully gruesome imagery...”—Nerdist
 
“If you’ve ever been frustrated trying to put together furniture from IKEA, you’ll get a laugh out of Hendrix’s spoof mystery.”—New York Post
 
“...disarming...”—Wall Street Journal
 
...wildly fun and outrageously inventive...”—Shelf Awareness for Readers, starred review

“A fun horror novel....Enjoyable....There is a fair amount of workplace humor, but the book...will deliver enough scares for horror fans as well.”—Library Journal
 
“A very clever ghost story....the story is entertaining and the book itself is laid out like an Orsk catalog”—Booklist
 
“...a clever little horror story...the book starts as a Palahniuk-tinged satire about the things we own...turning the psychological manipulations and scripted experiences that are inherent to the retail experience into a sinister fight for survival. A treat for fans of The Evil Dead or Zombieland, complete with affordable solutions for better living.”—Kirkus Reviews