Someone Else’s Life

Publisher: Doubleday Canada

Fans of Jodi Picoult, Caroline B. Cooney, and Lurlene McDaniel--teens and adults alike--will relish this emotional roller coaster ride of a novel.
     When Rosie's mother, Trudie, dies from Huntington's disease, the girl's pain is intensified by the knowledge that she has a 50 percent chance of inheriting the crippling disease herself. But when Rosie tells her mother's best friend that she is going to be tested for the debilitating illness, Sarah, a midwife, reveals that Trudie wasn't her real mother after all. Rosie was swapped at birth with a sickly baby who was destined to die.
     Devastated, Rosie decides to join her ex-boyfriend on his gap-year travels, leaving England to track down her birth mother in California. But all does not go as planned. In America, Rosie discovers more of her family's long-buried secrets and lies, and she is left with an agonizing decision of her own--one that will be the most heartbreaking and far-reaching of all.


Sunlight dances over the little girl’s dark curls as she toddles clumsily through the dry grass. Her rosy cheeks dimple as she grins, her green eyes sparkling as she lunges sticky fingers toward the camera. Suddenly she trips.
The picture immediately jolts and twists into the grass,...
Read More


“This is a really powerful book with one of the most amazing twists I’ve ever come across. It’s one of those books that tugs at all the heartstrings one moment, then has you grinning happily the next. Katie Dale is an author to look out for.”
The Guardian (UK)
“It reads the way a haunted house might, with the unexpected lurking behind every door. . . . [Readers will] be hard pressed to let Rosie out of their sight until the last page is turned.”
Kirkus Reviews
“Readers should be drawn into the fast-paced, high-stakes narrative.”
Publishers Weekly
“What starts out as a simple trip snowballs into a journey of discovery … Dale constructs an intriguing story about how families come in many forms and [how] love can be found in unexpected places. This book is sure to resonate with teens, especially those who live in nontraditional homes.”
School Library Journal