In a Strange Room

Three Journeys

Publisher: Emblem Editions
For readers of Ian McEwan, Paul Auster, and J.M. Coetzee, In a Strange Room is the intricate, psychologically intense, and deeply personal book of fiction from the internationally acclaimed, Man Booker Prize-shortlisted author of The Good Doctor.

A young man named Damon takes three journeys, through Greece, India, and Africa. To those who travel with him and those whom he meets on the way — including a handsome enigmatic stranger, a group of careless backpackers, and a woman on the edge — he is the Follower, the Lover, and the Guardian. Yet, despite the man's best intentions, each journey ends in disaster. Together, these three journeys will change his whole life.

A book of longing and thwarted desire, rage and compassion, In a Strange Room is the hauntingly beautiful evocation of one man's search for love and a place to call home.



It happens like this. He sets out in the afternoon on the track that has been shown to him and soon he leaves the little town behind. In an hour or so he is among low hills covered by olive trees and grey stones, from which there is a view out over a plain that gradually descends to...
Read More


"Extraordinarily readable. . . . A very beautiful book for one thing, strikingly conceived and hauntingly written, a writer's novel par excellence. . . ."
— The Guardian

"A powerful three-part meditation on the relationship between travel, love and an off-kilter self."
— Financial Times

"It is the honesty that consolidates this thoughtful, intelligent, cohesively human book. Galgut, ever the wanderer, always the seeker, is here at his most deliberate, as intent on finding meaning as on asking questions."
— Irish Times

"Galgut has the talent to grow into one of South Africa's great literary voices."
The Economist

"Galgut is a worthy heir to Gordimer and Coetzee."
The Observer

"Like Ian McEwan, [Galgut] is a master of menace."
Vancouver Sun

"A master of psychological tension."
Globe and Mail